Daily Archives: February 7, 2012

Stage 2, of double page spread.

Standard

In this edit  I  inserted the film review text.  At the moment it is Times  new roman, however I will change it to a more  interesting and fun text that goes  with  the feel of the page and the photos. The text is separated into two columns which makes it easier to read and makes it looks well laid out and smart.  I think my text however is slightly too big, its currently size 18, which looks okay on the computer but when I printed it out, it appeared much to large and unlike the text that I have seen in any magazine.

Before the film review begins I have placed a fact box within two green lines. The lines are green like the apple, which contrast with the red stars within the box that tell the audience how many stars the magazine has given the film. In this box I have included information like, its duration, director, how it stars and what its certificate is. This I feel is information that people are going to be interested in knowing before they read the review to find out if this films is really for them.

As you can see in the picture I have created a “made up” quote from a well established newspaper that I often see quotes in articles. I will place this quote so the text spaces around it and so that it does not fit into one column but breaks the lines. I have also added the second picture, which I have placed at an angle, overlapping the pepper photo. The photo pictures the apple and carrot looking crossly at each other with a red line that I edited in between then to show there is conflict. The carrot and apple have both been cut from individual photos, that I have brought them together with a black background so that they stand out from the rest of the page.

Despite my double page spread being to plan so far, I feel that it is not as good as I would like it to be for a number of reasons. The photos are amateurish, especially the carrot and apple one which does not look professional or like any photo i have seen in magazines. Also the text is very large which does not conform to the magazine double page spreads I looked at within my research.

Too improve my double page spread I will change the size and font of the text to make it look professional and so it conforms to the text I see in magazines. I have also decided that I will delete the photos and instead use stills from my film. This will look much better I think and will give the readers more of an incite into my film.